Sunshine Blogger Award

I now know people have different views on blog awards.  I’m very far from being a veteran in such things but so far I’ve decided they’re quite a good way of spreading the word about other blogs and doing a little self-disclosure.  Anand, who was so kind to nominate me at blabberwockying is just a very kind, wise and generous presence on the sometimes rather scary net. I shall now try to do justice to his questions and his generous nomination.

Apparently you have to answer eleven questions set by your nominator and then pass on the award to eleven others.  I’ve almost been well behaved though I think eleven is too many to give a proper spotlight so I’ve trimmed the number of nominations just a little (sorry Anand!).

  1. What do you like most about the present situation?

I’m not sure I understand the question, but if you mean the present situation in general I feel lucky to be alive in the early 21st century when antibiotics still seem to work and children in many places live through to adulthood more often than not.  There are of course hideous threats to security and stability, as well as illnesses and injustices, but then there always have been.  I’m not complacent though and I do worry about the vicious irony that we in Europe are in clear danger of losing our tolerance and diversity in the name of preserving our diversity and tolerance.

2. Which is your best memory?

I can’t remember. Just kidding – if I had to pick one it would probably involve dusk, digging unnecessary holes on a beach and children.  It’s less sinister than it probably sounds…..

3. Do you feel you are at peace with yourself?

I do indeed.  Some might argue too much so.  But I also worry about being at peace with myself, so personally I think that offsets any risk of smugness….

4. Who is your guide, guru or counselor? 

I don’t really have one. Is that bad?  I’ve had a lot of heroes and heroines over time but the closer you get to them the more flawed they seem so I now tend to take bits pieces from lots of different people.

Aside from real people, I would quite like to be John Cusack in “High Fidelity” or Jeff Bridges in “The Fabulous Baker Boys.”  In truth, I’m more like the boring brother Beau Bridges in The Fabulous Baker Boys (though, just for the record, with more hair)…..In fact, now we’re on the subject, I have a theory that every man thinks they’re Jeff Bridges in The Fabulous Baker Boys when in fact they’re Beau.  I’m going to work this up into a whole philosophy of masculinity one day….

5. What makes you feel very good?

I like people commenting on my little blog and I love it when people like my stuff. That seems to make me happy, probably disproportionately so.  I also like it when my children hint that I may have not have been the worst father in the world ever…..I actually quite like it when they shake their heads at me in a despairing way and say “really?” in response to my latest antics though naturally I would never tell them that.

6. Which quality or habit in your life you like the most about yourself?

I am easily pleased, which I’ve decided is a very good thing.  I also think, to slightly misquote Simon Armitage, that I know the difference between what is and what isn’t – and that’s also quite useful because it stops me yearning for the impossible.

7. Who are your sources of inspiration?

Too many to name.  Chekhov, Szymborska, Bach.   That’ll do for starters…

8. What is the role of gratitude in your life?

I’m not sure I understand this one either, but I am generally very grateful. Put another way, I spend a lot of time being nostalgic for the present, imagining how in the future I’m going to look back on the present with great fondness.

9. What is your best quality?

That’s really not for me to say.  Children seem to like me and I find them hilarious at all ages – is that a quality?  I also like old people.

10. Has blogging enriched your life? How?

I think it has, although I’m still quite new to all this.  It has given me a friendly little community to be a part of, and given me the confidence to carry on writing and a reason to have the discipline to write regularly.

11. What is your greatest talent?

I think perhaps, possibly, on a good day, with a fair wind, without wanting to boast, I can write in concise and clear way, without the use of too many – how can I put this? – subordinate clauses.  (Oh how we laughed…..)

And The Nominees Are (please don’t feel obliged):

short4orm

These are really great short stories of a disciplined form,  kishōtenketsu, I’d never come across before discovering this blog.

Septembersrose

Because, aside from running a great blog, she is always very generous in her comments and regularly makes me laugh.

chattykerry

Just to say thanks.

toutparmoi

Which is just such a clever and entertaining conceit.

vicsstories

Vic heroically generates and supports microfiction in many forms, thanklessly as well  – or at least thanklessly as far I’m concerned.  So this is my way of saying thanks!

Sorry to anyone I’ve missed, of which there are many.  I am genuinely grateful for all your support.

11 questions also seems rather a lot but here goes.

  1. What is your favourite food?
  2. What is your favourite time of day?
  3. What makes you angry?
  4. What is your favourite book?  (you can have three if one is too restrictive)
  5. If you had to be an animal, what animal would you be?
  6. What is your favourite season?
  7. Why do you write? (this is optional because I would hate to answer it)
  8. Have you already broken a New Year’s Resolution?  If not, why not?
  9. What is your favourite (short) joke?
  10. If you didn’t live in your current country of abode, where would you most like to live?
  11. Which languages can you speak?

Thanks for reading all that.  Happy New Year!

All best wishes,

Nick

13 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. So, how in the world am I supposed to nominate people and not include you. The rules won’t stand for it and frankly, I don’t think you’d like the torture of answering extremely vague and obscure questions yet again. But if there existed an award for “makes me laugh the most” you’d get it. You’d have to fight the dolphins and ponies for it though, I’m afraid.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice one – sorry if my questions are really annoying. Just ignore them if you want and make up your own! Or just ignore the whole thing…..actually I kind of quite like answering questions. Oh and I never fight dolphins. It’s sort of one of my rules…..ponies, on the other hand….

    Like

  3. Thank you so much, Nick. Thank goodness your questions are easier!! I should be fascinated that you love Chekhov and Bach but really I just want to see how much you look like Beau Bridges. Truth is that although I love Jeff’s acting, Beau seems a bit more attainable, handsome and fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for your nomination and support, Nick! I’ve really come to love your work, and will answer these questions after I post my 50th story. Cheers and Happy 2016 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

