One Sentence Wondering

When I was ten my father ran off with a lady with no chin, although she did have breasts, my mother told Ruth late one night in the kitchen because he’d never sell himself short in that department which, almost asleep in my bed, I misheard as he’d never sell himself shorts, and that seemed a strange thing to do to yourself and led my half-awake mind to imagine him standing on the top floor of a department store, knees exposed, looking a little confused, leaving me wondering, not for the first time, why grown ups  always do such stupid things to each other.

7 thoughts on “One Sentence Wondering

Leave a Reply

