Albert learns that Mr Nick plans to carry out some urgent maintenance work on the site throughout the rest of August

‘Well personally I think you’re making a big mistake,’ Albert says.

‘Er, hello?’ Mr Nick replies.  ‘Did I ask one of my characters for an opinion?  Who needs this post-modern gimmicky stuff where the character picks a fight with the author anyway?’

‘Well, all I’m saying is that if you stop posting for the rest of August all your millions of fans will all forget about you.’

‘Albert, just for once, could you perhaps consider the possibility that sarcasm will not progress the discussion?  I only informed you about the forthcoming break in service as a courtesy.’

‘Plus it’s only me they come to read about anyway.  That’s all I’m saying.’

‘Well that’s not strictly…’

‘Besides, how am I going to learn anything while the site’s inactive?’

‘Albert, you never learn anything anyway.’

‘Well that’s not true.’

‘Okay then Albert – name me something you’ve actually learnt.’

‘Alright then….there was that time when….well how about….let’s see now….well I’ve learnt that it’s unhelpful to be too specific in your questions.  That’s something.’

Mr Nick sighs heavily.  ‘I just think we both need a break Albert,’ he says.

‘Well, I hope they forgive you.  That’s all I’m saying.’

‘I wish it was.’

‘Wish it was what?’

‘All you were saying.’

‘Given you’re the one that made me up, you certainly harbor a lot of simmering resentment towards me.’

‘Albert…’

‘Oh I’m going Mr Nick, I’m going.  Don’t you rush me.  And I’ll see myself out.  Let’s hope the break does you good…that’s all I’m saying…..’

‘See you in September, Albert….’

16 thoughts on “Albert learns that Mr Nick plans to carry out some urgent maintenance work on the site throughout the rest of August

  1. Aww, no! Come back!! I’ve only just come back around myself! But believe me, I know how much a break can help. Enjoy your time Nick 🙂 you’ll be missed but I’ll still be looking for you

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

