An Act of Recognition

I don’t buy the whole ‘call of the streets’ thing.  This is how I see it.

I never chose to move my arm.  And walking to the shop I never instructed my legs to move.

Likewise, I’m guessing that you never chose to run away from security and stability.  It wasn’t the result of the careful weighing up of all available options; just a weirdly inevitable act of recognition.

But it’s been so good to have you back and if it wasn’t inappropriate and slightly creepy I’d give you the biggest hug on the planet.  Please stay, I’d beg you if I thought you could actually hear me.  Engage that brain of yours, I’d say, in a caring way.

Don’t run, I’d say.  Just stay.

Leave a Reply

