Head to Head with Beethoven

beethoven

I went head to head with Beethoven today.  Best of five.

Well, I have to admit he got off to a really great start.  He completely outplayed me in the first round which was all about harmony and counterpoint.  And then, in round two, his melodic vocal writing made mincemeat of my tuneless humming.

But my lucked started to turn in round three, which was focused upon jumping up and down on the spot.  I don’t like to gloat, but Beethoven was nowhere to be seen.

Then we went down the park to determine who could look the most moody in the wind.  Well I say we but again old Ludwig was notable by his absence.

Finally, in the decider, which was all about having a pulse in 2017, I basically left him for dead.

As you might well imagine, this has been an important victory for me.  It’s done wonders for my self-esteem.  Beethoven is no pushover.

Next week, I’m up to play Shakespeare.  I mean, I don’t like to boast, but after this victory today I must confess to feeling quietly confident.

7 thoughts on “Head to Head with Beethoven

Leave a Reply

